Die Rätsel sind immer multimodal

Scroll for English

Dass niemand von mir verlangen kann, etwas zu tun, was verboten ist, ist eine Intuition, die sich im von Hughes und Cresswell D genannten modallogischen System widerspiegelt: Lp->Mp.

Aber was passiert, wenn ich das Gebotene aus nichtdeontischen Gründen nicht tun kann? Etwa wenn ich mich wegen der Hunde vor mir nicht in Sicherheit vor der Gefahr hinter mir bringen kann? Dieser Art, multimodal, sind moralische Dilemmas und die Modallogik hat keine Antwort darauf.

Wie kann man Italien nicht lieben? Dieses Land bringt zu Gedanken und ist schön noch dazu.



Enough with scrolling

Blame me ‚cause I love Italy for making me see.

That no one can request that I do what’s prohibited, is the intuition – in fact the characteristic axiom – of the modal system Hughes and Cresswell call D: Lp->Mp.

But this is not what deontic or moral dilemmas are made from. What if I can’t run from a fire behind me because of the dogs in front of me? NB, fleeing from the fire can be a deontic prescription while being afraid of the dogs is not. Modal logic is not the algorithm to settle dilemmas of this kind and Italy is the country to teach you that, probably, there’s not such an algorithm.

Reality is too much of a „mid-shapen chaos of well-seeming forms“, to be captured by logic (Romeo and Juliet, act 1, scene 1).

Kommentar verfassen

