Gute Miene



Scroll for English

Was soll ich in Wilhelm Heys berühmten Versen nicht verurteilen? Die Vorherbestimmung? Die sklavische Haltung (Gottes!) gegenüber einer gewissen Anzahl von Dingen? Gegenüber einer bestimmten Kardinalität von Mengen?

Kann es sein, dass ich meinen Kindern so etwas vorgesungen habe? Wohl nur zähneknirschend…

Ich bin dankbar für die Blicke, die mir ein „Du lügst“ andeuten, wenn ich behaupte, es bereite mir Freude, etwas zu singen, was gar nicht geht.

—-

Enough with scrolling

I dislike Wilhelm Hey’s verses as much as they’re popular. It’s the predestination, the servile attitude towards the cardinality of some set of empirical objects, God’s servility that enrages me. How did I manage to keep calm whenever my kids wanted to hear it?

Or didn’t I? I hope they looked at me with these eyes that say „You’re such a liar“. These eyes for which you can only be grateful.

Here it is:

Do you know how many stars

shine down from the blue skies?

Do you know how many clouds

wander and the world disguise?

God has counted their sum

That not a single one may be gone

Though their number is so large.

Kommentar verfassen

